Eliminate Multiple Choice Exams!

Yup. I’m even a Social Studies teacher.  Multiple choice exams tell you nothing about what students know. These exams have always frustrated me, but when thinking about my post today, my son asked me what we could do, since it was raining.  Without prompting, he wanted to play board games, and then he chose Candy Land.  I didn’t offer “fun” choices for him to pick from, and I didn’t offer the board games that we have.  He, at 3.5 years old, made an appropriate choice from thinking through possible options in his head.  Life isn’t a multiple choice test; why is school?  My opinion—those that use multiple choice assessments are lazy.  Yup.

Now, I have used them, and my students still take multiple choice tests on test prep benchmark exams, but I don’t like them.  So, when I bad-mouth multiple choice, it’s not because I’ve always felt this way.  THESE EXAMS ARE FABULOUS TIME SAVERS.  Some supporters of multiple choice will inevitably argue that good data analysis can help an assessor understand a student’s choice.  The benchmark state assessment exams I am required to give feature A VERY DETAILED data analysis.  However, my colleagues and I were still left wondering WHY students answered they way they did.  Multiple choice tests ultimately tell you very little about what students know, er, guessed.

Some will argue state assessments, AP exams, etc. still use multiple choice, thus students should still be exposed to them.  NO! NO! NO!  This argument is so shortsighted.  As teachers, we shouldn’t be preparing students for a test, but for life beyond tests.  I would like strong evidence that teachers should prepare students for a multiple-choice life.  I don’t think there is any argument that could sway me.

So what do we do about state assessments?  Change them too!  Bah, now he’s talking crazy talk.  Nope.  In the coming days, I’ll post a simple solution that state legislators MUST consider, and one that will provide better evidence about the quality of education in the classroom.  It’s pretty simple, I promise.

7 thoughts on “Eliminate Multiple Choice Exams!

  1. JE Baugh August 10, 2012 / 9:20 am

    Reblogged this on JE Baugh and commented:
    It’s time for the guessing game…

    • Justin Staub, Ed.D. August 10, 2012 / 9:22 am

      Wow, awesome. It’s pretty simple, and since I’m going on a retreat this weekend, I’ll have to post it before I leave, right?

  2. Mathi Tamilmani August 12, 2012 / 9:59 pm

    I think this is a great idea and I have felt the same way for quite some time! As a student at the STEM Academy, I think it is quite fitting for any school, especially ours, to follow through with the “no multiple choice” testing procedure.

    • Justin Staub, Ed.D. August 13, 2012 / 3:13 pm

      Mathi, this is exactly why I was suggested to start this blog. So much of what we do at STEM seems normal to us, but it is quite revolutionary. A life without multiple choice exams would be nice, wouldn’t it?

      I can’t wait to get back to school. Fourteen days, by my count. Enjoy the last of your summer!

  3. online classes free from obama July 8, 2013 / 6:53 am

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be grateful
    to you.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear what you think!

