End of the Summer

End of Summer
My youngest son, watching his older brothers at soccer practice.

When I was in middle school, I remember the last week of summer vacation well.  I tried to jam-pack everything I could into the remaining week; home run derby, bike riding, basketball, sleep overs… I loved it.  I remember excitedly trying to eek out every last piece of summer.  Oddly, I did not dread the return of school, but I rather enjoyed the time I had left without books, homework, or teachers.

Now I am on the other side of the desk, as a teacher, and I still try to eek every last bit of summer vacation before school starts.  This week my two oldest sons are with my parents, and my youngest will return to daycare.  That gives me a lot of time to eek summer out of every awaking moment.

Relax during this last week of summer.  Enjoy as much time outside as you can.  Spend time with your friends.  Shut your computer, put aside your phone, and breathe the last moments of freedom before returning to the structured schedule of school.

Do you have any plans for this week?  Reply and let me know!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear what you think!

